international glamping weekend

ea2126de11c07a16288c39bd5ecbd52e

This week I enjoyed the Spring sunshine and warm weather by getting my skirts and shorts out of the back of the closet, barbequing skewers with some good friends, and sandal shopping at the famous Army & Navy shoe sale. All of these sights and sounds, and yes even smells has filled me with memories and a yearning to do some camping. You may have heard of the ‘glamping’ craze that has become popular lately, but if not…

glamping
n
a form of camping in which participants enjoy physical comforts associated with more luxurious types of holiday
[C21: blend of glamorous + camping]

Now don’t get me wrong, I am a rustic camper through and through. Sorta. Growing up my family had a small old travel trailer that we took on many trips throughout the province of BC, all the way to Winnipeg, and even down to California. Before being inherited by us is was my grandparents’ holiday house taking them, and their four kids all over the place as well. After having a facelift a decade ago, and many years of hard use by numerous members of my family it was finally retired by us and sold to new owners who are hopefully enjoying it as much as we did.

Since then, the tent has been my camping oasis, and its five person, stand-able interior size is what allows me to enjoy the rest of the camping experience more fully – campfire cooking, lake baths, tarp cities & percolator coffee. Two years ago I spent three weeks camping in torrential downpours on Haida Gwaii. The rainforest and ocean beach “sites” provided nothing more than the space to set up a tent, thus why I use the word ‘site’ roughly. Our camping spots were really just the place we made it to after kayaking on the often rough ocean waters all day long, and had absolutely no washrooms, tent pads, fire pits, or picnic tables. The experience was really good for me, as it made me appreciate my home and safe quiet life immensely. It was a difficult adventure, but I really did enjoy it – wet socks, waterfront “bathrooms”, and all.

582081_262214737213610_2063494918_n

Mary Jane, of MaryJanesFarm pioneered the concept of ‘glamping’ and has in turn dedicated one weekend every year as ‘International Glamping Weekend”. This year the weekend falls on June 1-2, 2013. Unfortunately I will be out of town that weekend, but plan on celebrating sometime before or after with my own glamping getaway. The following are some mid-range glamping concepts that are more my style than some of the outrageous super luxurious options out there. Be sure to look for my next post, a list of must-have “glamping essentials“.

57f0c82663dfbf1748eaacd96a546cf9

e81fdb0afd647d4d59efd176afde6b84

1da3815cafce4df1563a5705255e8844

0f3d79038890c6b41a0724f2a69d7b08

0a085a6bfb5342c06cc3f5b57917b514

This option looks wonderfully perfect to me!

b49d815a48588b3f8a1fca9fece3b01b

Why not take your excursion inside? It is glamping after all 😉

One thought on “international glamping weekend

  1. Pingback: glamping essentails | explore. create. discover.

Leave a Reply

